JillLebofsky may earn a commission if you buy through links on this page, at no extra cost to you. That does not change what we report.
Part of our Nerve Soothe overview. Last checked October 28, 2026.
Nerve Soothe ingredients are five herbs in a 900 mg, 2-capsule serving: passionflower 290 mg, marshmallow root 220 mg, Corydalis lutea 4:1 extract 200 mg, prickly pear 20:1 extract 100 mg and California poppy seed 90 mg[1]. Every amount is printed on the label. None of the five matches a dose that human trials tested for nerve pain, because no such trial exists in the sources we read.
Nerve Soothe ingredients at a glance
The Nerve Soothe ingredients table below shows each herb, what it has been studied for, whether its amount is disclosed and its evidence grade from our research cards. Limited means a few small human trials; Weak means animal, cell or unrelated data.
| Ingredient (label) | Amount | Studied for (our sources) | Amount disclosed? | Evidence grade |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Passion flower herb powder | 290 mg | Anxiety, sleep | Yes | Limited (calm, sleep); Weak (nerve pain) |
| Marshmallow root powder | 220 mg | Cough, sore throat, eczema (skin ointment) | Yes | Weak (no nerve or calm data) |
| Corydalis lutea 4:1 | 200 mg | Pain, in animal and cell work (yanhusuo) | Yes, plant part not stated | Weak (yanhusuo); lutea not studied in our sources |
| Prickly pear 20:1 | 100 mg | Blood sugar, blood pressure, body fat | Yes, plant part not stated | Weak |
| California poppy seed | 90 mg | Calm (mice; one combination trial) | Yes | Limited (calm, combination only); Weak (nerve pain) |
Other ingredients: magnesium stearate, gelatin and rice flour[1].
What is in each ingredient, and what does research say?
Research supports a mild calming effect for passionflower and little else; for each herb below we set the label dose against the doses studies used.
Passionflower (Passiflora incarnata), 290 mg
Passionflower is a climbing plant used as a calming herb. In a 36-patient pilot trial, 45 drops a day of extract for 4 weeks matched oxazepam for generalized anxiety[2]. A standardized extract at bedtime for 30 days lowered perceived stress and lengthened sleep in 65 adults[3].
Dose check: those trials used extract drops and a standardized extract, and a third used one cup of tea nightly[4], none stated as milligrams of dried herb. Nerve Soothe's 290 mg of herb powder cannot be matched to any of them. For nerve pain there is no trial; neuralgia is a traditional use only[5].
Marshmallow root (Althaea officinalis), 220 mg
Marshmallow root is rich in mucilage, a gel-like fiber used for cough and sore throat, usually in combination with other herbs[6]. Its one human trial in our sources used a 1% ointment on the skin of children with eczema[7].
Dose check: no oral dose was established in the sources we read, so 220 mg has nothing to be compared with. We found no human trial for nerve pain or calm.
Corydalis lutea 4:1, 200 mg
The label lists Corydalis lutea, but the sales letter describes "Corydalis (yanhusuo plant)" and cites a UC Irvine release about yanhusuo[8]. These are different species. The research we read covers yanhusuo only; we found no study of Corydalis lutea in the sources we read.
For yanhusuo itself, pain claims rest mostly on animal and cell studies of its alkaloids[9][10], and it appears for neuropathic pain only inside multi-herb formulas[11].
Dose check: no standardized human dose for yanhusuo was established from trials in our sources. If 4:1 means four parts plant to one part extract, 200 mg equals about 800 mg of raw plant, though the label does not state the plant part or any marker compound.
Prickly pear (Opuntia ficus-indica) 20:1, 100 mg
Prickly pear, or nopal, is a food cactus. Pooled trials showed no change in body weight, with small, inconsistent drops in body fat, blood pressure and cholesterol[12]. The pads (cladode) showed promise for glucose, while fruit products mostly did not[13].
Dose check: the one fixed dose in our sources is 5 g of nopal powder daily for 24 weeks[14]. Read the same way as above, 100 mg of a 20:1 extract equals about 2 g of plant, under half that amount. The label does not say pad or fruit, which matters for the glucose findings.
California poppy (Eschscholzia californica) seed, 90 mg
California poppy acted as a sedative and calming agent in mice[15], and its alkaloids bind serotonin 5-HT1A receptors in lab tests[16]. The only human trial used it in a fixed mix with hawthorn and magnesium, which beat placebo for mild to moderate anxiety; the poppy's own share cannot be separated[17].
Dose check: mouse doses were 25 mg per kg for calming and above 100 mg per kg for sedation[15], which cannot be read as a human dose. There is no human dose for poppy alone. The label says seed, and it is not stated whether the studied extracts and the seed are comparable.
How transparent is the Nerve Soothe formula?
The Nerve Soothe formula is transparent on amounts: the label prints all five doses, and they add up to the stated 900 mg (290 + 220 + 200 + 100 + 90 = 900 mg)[1]. That is a full disclosure, although the sales letter still calls it a "100% Natural Proprietary Blend"[8].
Gaps remain: no plant part for corydalis or prickly pear, no marker compound for either extract, and a corydalis species that differs from the sales letter.
The vendor label, read October 28, 2026, wins over any third-party ingredient list. Formulas can change, so compare the bottle you receive with these amounts.
Ingredient safety and interactions
The main safety concern is drowsiness. NCCIH lists drowsiness, dizziness and confusion for passionflower, advises avoiding it in pregnancy and stopping it 2 weeks before surgery. California poppy extract and alkaloids blocked the liver enzymes CYP3A4, 2C9, 2C19 and 2D6 in lab tests[18].
Jin Bu Huan, a Chinese pain product, caused acute and biopsy-proven chronic hepatitis[19][20]; its tie to corydalis comes from the literature on the corydalis alkaloid l-THP, not from those case reports. Prickly pear may add to diabetes and blood pressure drugs[13]. Details are in our Nerve Soothe side effects guide.
Do these ingredients prove Nerve Soothe works?
No. The ingredients do not prove Nerve Soothe works for neuropathy, because none of the five has a human trial for nerve pain and the product itself has no published trial. The vendor's references are a faculty profile, a Mayo page, rat and cell studies and a 1977 nutrition abstract[21].
Our Nerve Soothe benefits page sets each claim against the evidence. If you take prescribed nerve medicine, keep it as directed and ask your prescriber before adding herbs.
Back to the Nerve Soothe overview.
Frequently asked questions
What is in Nerve Soothe?
Each 2-capsule serving holds passionflower 290 mg, marshmallow root 220 mg, Corydalis lutea 4:1 200 mg, prickly pear 20:1 100 mg and California poppy seed 90 mg, 900 mg in total. Other ingredients are magnesium stearate, gelatin and rice flour.
Does Nerve Soothe contain gabapentin or any drug?
No drug is listed on the label. It shows only five herbs plus magnesium stearate, gelatin and rice flour. We did not lab-test the capsules, so the label is the only source for what is inside.
Is Corydalis lutea the same as Corydalis yanhusuo?
No, they are different species. The Nerve Soothe label lists Corydalis lutea, while the sales letter describes yanhusuo and cites research on it. The studies we read cover yanhusuo, so they do not show what the lutea in the capsule does.
Does Nerve Soothe use a proprietary blend?
No. Despite the sales letter calling it a proprietary blend, the label prints the amount of each of the five herbs, and they add up to the 900 mg serving. The plant part for corydalis and prickly pear is not stated.
Is the passionflower dose in Nerve Soothe the same as in studies?
It cannot be matched. Trials used 45 drops of extract a day, a cup of tea at night or a standardized extract. Nerve Soothe uses 290 mg of dried herb powder, a different form with no tested equivalent in those studies.
Sources
- Nerve Soothe Supplement Facts label image. Nerve Soothe vendor, read October 28, 2026.
- Passionflower vs oxazepam for generalized anxiety, pilot randomized trial (PMID 11679026). PubMed, read October 20, 2026.
- Passionflower extract, stress and sleep in 65 adults, randomized trial (PMID 38646244). PubMed, read October 20, 2026.
- Passionflower tea and subjective sleep quality (PMID 21294203). PubMed, read October 20, 2026.
- Passionflower: traditional uses and quality of the clinical trials (PMID 24140586). PubMed, read October 20, 2026.
- Marshmallow root mucilage, cough and sore throat, research summary (PMID 31770755). PubMed, read October 20, 2026.
- Marshmallow 1% ointment vs hydrocortisone 1% in childhood atopic dermatitis, pilot trial (PMID 33034099). PubMed, read October 20, 2026.
- Nerve Soothe sales letter, text version. Nerve Soothe vendor, read October 28, 2026.
- Corydalis alkaloids and pain, pharmacology summary (PMID 34946576). PubMed, read October 20, 2026.
- Corydalis yanhusuo pharmacology and safety, research summary (PMID 32223481). PubMed, read October 20, 2026.
- Most-used Chinese herbs for pain, including corydalis (PMID 32054304). PubMed, read October 20, 2026.
- Prickly pear and body weight, fat, blood pressure and cholesterol, meta-analysis of randomized trials (PMID 25837206). PubMed, read October 20, 2026.
- Prickly pear (Opuntia) and glucose, systematic analysis (PMID 31096667). PubMed, read October 20, 2026.
- Nopal powder 5 g daily for 24 weeks, bone density in women 40 to 60 (PMID 32160071). PubMed, read October 20, 2026.
- California poppy sedative and anxiolytic effects in mice (PMID 1680240). PubMed, read October 20, 2026.
- California poppy alkaloids and 5-HT1A receptors in vitro (PMID 16562853). PubMed, read October 20, 2026.
- Hawthorn, California poppy and magnesium combination for mild to moderate anxiety, randomized trial (PMID 14741074). PubMed, read October 20, 2026.
- California poppy extract and alkaloids, CYP enzyme inhibition and PXR activation in vitro (PMID 27054913). PubMed, read October 20, 2026.
- Acute hepatitis linked to Jin Bu Huan, case reports (PMID 7741903). PubMed, read October 20, 2026.
- Chronic hepatitis linked to Jin Bu Huan, biopsy-proven case (PMID 9537855). PubMed, read October 20, 2026.
- Nerve Soothe video sales page with FAQ. Nerve Soothe vendor, read October 28, 2026.
This page is general information, not medical advice. Dietary supplements are not reviewed by the FDA for safety or effectiveness before they are sold and are not intended to diagnose, treat, cure or prevent any disease. Talk to your doctor before taking any supplement, especially if you are pregnant, nursing, take medication or have a health condition.

